search menu icon-carat-right cmu-wordmark
Carnegie Mellon University | Software Engineering Institute

Watts S. Humphrey

Software Process Achievement Award

The Humphrey Award is given to individuals or groups to recognize the excellence of their work.

To nominate an individual or group, you must submit nomination material specifying the nominee, describe the nominee's software engineering process improvement work, and make a case for why the nominee's work has led to productivity improvements. The nomination material must be accompanied by letters and signed by an individual with the appropriate responsibility and authority, certifying agreement to several award conditions. Nominations must be submitted to the SPA Award Coordinator as outlined in the Award Schedule.

Nominate an Individual or Group

Eligibility Requirements

The Humphrey Award may be presented to nominees that meet the following requirements:

  • The award may be presented to an individual or a group. Recipients are most often employees of the target organization. If not, the recipient may work for an organization that provided software engineering process improvement services to the target organization. For example, the recipient's organization may be an organization that provides training or process measurement consulting to the target organization, or it might be an association that supports activities related to software engineering process improvement that benefit one or more target organizations.
  • Because software engineering process improvement activities are normally group activities, a nominee is usually a team of professionals. However, to recognize work within small organizations or within organizations that do not formally define a software engineering process improvement-related team, a nominee may be an individual or a small, informal group.
  • The target organization may be for-profit, not-for-profit, or non-profit; may be an industrial, academic, or government organization or foundation; and need not be based in the United States.