search menu icon-carat-right cmu-wordmark
Carnegie Mellon University | Software Engineering Institute

Linda M. Northrop

Software Architecture Award


Eligibility Requirements

  • The award may be presented to an individual or a group, but the recipient or recipients can be no larger than a team; that is, the award will not be presented to an entire organization.
  • Recipients are most often employees of a target organization. If not, recipients may work for an organization that provided benefits to the target organization. For example, the recipient organization may be an organization that provides consulting services related to software architecture to the target organization, or it may be an association that supports activities related to software architecture that benefit one or more target organizations.
  • The work described and awarded may be for-profit, not-for-profit, or non-profit; for an industrial, academic, or government organization or foundation; and need not be based in the United States.
  • Current and former SEI employees may nominate others, but are not eligible to receive the award.
  • There are no restrictions on the time frame during which the work conducted by the nominee and cited in the nomination took place.


  • A nomination must be supported by two endorsements from people other than the submitter who are familiar with the work described and have been positively affected by it. The submitter should provide context for the endorsements, by explaining why they are important or relevant.
  • None of the data and information in the nomination materials may be proprietary or confidential.
  • If selected as an award recipient, the nominee or one representative from the winning team will make a presentation at the SATURN Conference that is held in the year in which the award is conferred and will make themselves available to receive the commemorative plaque when the award is announced at SATURN.