search menu icon-carat-right cmu-wordmark
Carnegie Mellon University | Software Engineering Institute

Linda M. Northrop

Software Architecture Award


The Linda M. Northrop Software Architecture Award is given to an individual or team that has used software architecture to significantly improve practices, outcomes, or both in an organization or in the software-development community. The award recipient gives a presentation at the SATURN Conference. See Past Recipients.

The winner of the 2019 award was the Software Curriculum@Siemens Healthineers team. The team made a presentation on their experience and insights at the 2019 SATURN Conference.

For questions or to nominate an individual or team, contact us at


The award is named for Linda M. Northrop, who led the Carnegie Mellon Software Engineering Institute (SEI) program that was instrumental in the creation and development of the field of software architecture.

SEI software architecture methods are in wide use today throughout the world, documented in a series of highly acclaimed books and disseminated by means of a software architecture curriculum and certificate programs. To date, more than 17,000 people from more than 1,400 organizations have attended courses in the SEI Software Architecture Curriculum, and more than 2,200 people have earned software-architecture-related certificates from the SEI.

success through architecture

Success Through Architecture

Significant, influential use of architecture as a critical factor in the successful launch of a product or system


January 13, 2020

Call for Nominations opens